Twitter did not specify how many users would have access to this test feature. But soon it could be extended to the rest of the tweeters.
How does Twitter ‘unmentioning’ work?
In its official account, Twitter gave the example of how this new option will work:
If someone ‘raps’ you in a conversation, you can go to the tweet where your username appears and click on the top right, where the three ellipses appear.
Next, the usual menu will be displayed, but with a new option: ‘Leave this conversation’. By clicking on it, the mention will automatically be deleted and the link to your profile will be disabled.
How do you say “Don’t @ me,” without saying “Don’t @ me”?
We’re experimenting with Unmentioning—a way to help you protect your peace and remove yourself from conversations—available on the Web for some of you now. pic.twitter.com/rlo6lqp34H
— Twitter Safety (@TwitterSafety)
April 7, 2022
In addition, the new mentions that are attempted to be made will also be canceled, in that same conversation or Twitter thread. Thus, the notifications of the responses that are sometimes annoying when it comes to harassment or issues that do not concern the user will stop coming.
The trial is available to a limited number of users worldwide, and only for the web version of Twitter.