WhatsApp’s new ‘private mode’: this is how it will work

WhatsApp’s new ‘private mode’: this is how it will work

WhatsApp wants to offer users more options that guarantee their privacy and security when browsing its application. As revealed wabetainfothe messaging service owned by Meta is working on a new option that will allow hide ‘Online’ status from all usersincluding those who are in our contacts, and not just those who have not previously chatted.

WhatsApp, in fact, already allows you to hide the ‘Online’ notice, which appears every time someone is browsing within the app. The feature, however, is limited to those users who have not started a conversation. That is, if a person wants to chat with someone for the first time, they will not be able to see their status until the recipient has written or replied to the message previously sent by the sender. The new WhatsApp feature, however, will allow you to hide that status from all contacts, even those with whom a person writes frequently.

The objective is prevent other people from knowing that you are browsing the application. And it is that, remember, the ‘online’ status appears at all times, even when a person is not precisely in that chat. According to the aforementioned portal, the possibility of hiding the ‘Online’ notice from all contacts will appear in WhatsApp’s privacy settings, along with the option that allows you to activate or deactivate the last connection.

It will be possible to configure who can see when we are online within the settings thanks to two new options: “Everyone” and “Same as Last time”. For example, if you choose “My contacts” for the “Last time” option and “Same as Last time” for the “Who can see you’re online” option, it means that non-contacts won’t be able to see when you’re online.

Ensures Wabetainfo.

In relation to this last option, WhatsApp also will allow the user to choose who they want to see the last time they accessed the app. If everyone, only your contacts, nobody or all contacts, except some people. Both features are expected to come to the iOS and Android app soon. Of course, it is not the only one in which the messaging app works.

Read:  This is how Cancun was created with a computer

WhatsApp also works on a function to edit messages

WhatsApp also works on a function to be able to edit those messages that have already been sent. The objective, in this case, is correct typos, misspellings or even replace the text of the message if, for example, it is poorly formulated. The function will be available through the options menu that appears when you press and hold on that chat. It’s unclear if the app will include a time limit for editing that message. Nor will it show a warning as the text has been modified or if, in addition, it will allow you to see a history of the changes made.

The feature also will be complemented by the possibility of deleting messages already shipped. In this way, the user does not have to delete an entire chat and rewrite it if, for example, he has made a mistake when writing a word.

In addition to these, there are other functions that users have been asking for for a while and that, fortunately, will arrive very soon in the app. One of them is the possibility of recovering those messages deleted inadvertently. Therefore, if a user deletes a text that they did not want to delete, they will have a few seconds to undo that action and the message will show you in the conversation again. WhatsApp, on the other hand, will include a new button to filter chats as unread.

In this way, those conversations that the user has not opened will appear first. Remember that WhatsApp currently filters chats in order of arrival. Therefore, if a person has received a message a couple of others ago, they have not opened it, but they have received other messages that they have opened, the chat will go to the bottom of the screen.

In any case, all these improvements are still in development. They will arrive first to the different beta versions of the app, for both iOS and Android. Later, they will be expanded to all users automatically or through an update in the app.