The most beautiful towns in each province of Spain, gathered in this map

The most beautiful towns in each province of Spain, gathered in this map

Choosing the best towns in Spain is not an easy task, because we would run the risk of making an endless list. From the Andalusian white villages to the small fishing enclaves that dot the Cantabrian coast, our country can boast of hundreds of charming municipalities throughout its geography. For this reason, the Musement tourism website has opted for the easy way out and has drawn up a map with the most popular enclaves in each Spanish province based on cold Google search data.

To do this, Musement has taken into consideration all those towns with less than 20,000 inhabitants (despite the fact that the Spanish State already considers all those municipalities with more than 10,000 citizens to be a city) and has selected those with the highest volume of Google searches of each province.

Peñíscola, in Castellón.

Cadaques, in Girona.

Cadaques, in Girona.

From the coast to the mountains. One of the most popular towns in all of Spain, according to Google search data, is Peñíscola, the most popular in the province of Castellón. This charming coastal enclave, in addition to its beaches and streets steeped in history, stands out for its Templar castle, which became the residence of Pope Benedict XIII.

Other prominent coastal towns that appear on this map are Llanes, in Asturias, Hondarribia, in Guipúzcoa, Mojacar, in Almería, or Cadaqués, in Girona. For those who prefer the mountains, this map highlights the towns of Cazorla (Jaén), Albarracín (Teruel), Lerma (Burgos), Cervera del Pisuegra (Palencia) or Jaca (Huesca).

Albarracin Teruel Spain 2014 01 10 Dd 120

Albarracín, in Teruel.

Jack, in Huesca.

Jack, in Huesca.

The highlights of each autonomy.

  • Andalusia: Osuna (Seville), Frigiliana (Málaga), Setenil de las Bodegas (Cádiz), Guadix (Granada), Rute (Córdoba), Mojácar (Almería), Cazorla (Jaén) and Aracena (Huelva).

  • Aragon: Tarazona (Zaragoza), Jaca (Huesca) and Albarracín (Teruel).

  • Asturias: Llanes.

  • Canary Islands: Teror (Las Palmas) and Garachico (Santa Cruz de Tenerife).

  • Cantabria: Comillas.

  • Castilla y León: Tordesillas (Valladolid), Astorga (León), Lerma (Burgos), Ciudad Rodrigo (Salamanca), Puebla de Sanabria (Zamora), Cervera de Pisuerga (Palencia), Arenas de San Pedro (Ávila), Pedraza (Segovia) ) and Medinaceli (Soria).

  • Castilla-La Mancha: Consuegra (Toledo), Almagro (Ciudad Real), Alcalá del Júcar (Albacete), Sigüenza (Guadalajara) and Belmonte (Cuenca).

  • Catalonia: Cardona (Barcelona), Miravet (Tarragona), Cadaqués (Girona) and Solsona (Lleida).

  • Community of Madrid: Chinchon.

  • Valencian Community: Bocairent (Valencia), Guadalest (Alicante) and Peñíscola (Castellón).

  • Extremadura: Zafra (Badajoz) and Trujillo (Cáceres).

  • Galicia: Betanzos (A Coruña), Cambados (Pontevedra), Ribadeo (Lugo) and Allariz (Ourense).

  • Balearic Islands: Valldemossa.

  • La Rioja: Haro.

  • Navarre: Olite.

  • Basque Country: Bermeo (Vizcaya), Hondarribia (Guipúzcoa) and Laguardia (Álava).

  • Region of Murcia: Moratalla.

Image 2 | Grodin Tierce; Image 3 | qirille ; Image 4 | Trevor Huxham; Image 5 | Diego Delso Image 6 | Juanedc