Despite the fact that WhatsApp is the leading instant messaging application and there are many others that seek to compete with you, there is not one that stands up to it like Telegram does.

This app, which is gaining a lot of ground in the direct messaging market, has managed to stand up to WhatsApp by bringing out innovations such as the computer version or the multiple functions it has, such as doubling the speed at which audios are played.

Despite that, Telegram does not escape inappropriate messages from unpleasant people, since everyone who has your contact will be able to write to you through this social network. Also if you only want to have a select list of friends in Telegram, you can choose to delete contacts in this social network.

Telegram contacts are synchronized with those of your device, just like WhatsApp does. However, Telegram has the peculiarity that the contacts from your mobile will be stored in the cloud. In this article, we will teach you how to delete specific contacts in Telegram, which means that you will still have them in your device’s calendar.

How to Delete Contacts from Telegram App on Android or iOS - Very Easy

Delete contacts in mobile Telegram

Deleting contacts in the Telegram application for mobile devices is extremely simple; however, the process could become somewhat tedious or annoying since the only way to delete contacts is to discard them one by one.

Unlike WhatsApp, Telegram has the great advantage of having the option of contacts so that you can sort and find them quickly whenever you need.

To carry out this process you must enter the chat of the person you want to delete. Don’t worry, you don’t need to write a message. You can go to contacts from the sidebar located in the upper left corner and search for the person you want to delete.

Once you are in the chat of the person you are going to delete, you must click on their profile to open the window with the contact information. On that same screen, you must press the three vertical points that are in the upper right corner.

After pressing the option of the three dots, a menu with different options will be displayed, including delete contact. You will have to press there and once you finish this action you will have deleted the contact from your agenda until you synchronize it with the data on your phone again.

Read:  How to activate data roaming on a Xiaomi mobile

Delete chat and block contact

If you had a chat with that person you just deleted, it will still be there, but now, instead of showing the contact’s name, their phone number will appear. It could be a good alternative to delete the chat and block the contact.

To block the contact, you must carry out the same procedure as was done to delete the chat, with the difference that, instead of selecting the delete contact option, we will have to select the block option.

Finally, and to remove all traces of that unwanted contact, you can delete the chat. To do this, you just have to access the chat, press the three vertical dots in the upper right corner and select the delete chat option. In this way, the person will not be able to write to you anymore by this means and you will not have the chat of that undesirable person.

It should be noted that you can choose between deleting the chat only for yourself or for the other person as well, since Telegram recently eliminated the time limit when it comes to deleting messages, deleting them immediately

Delete contacts in Telegram for desktop

The way to delete contacts in the computer version of Telegram is exactly the same as the previous procedure. You must look for the chat of the contact that you are going to delete and after that click on the option of the three vertical dots located in the upper right corner.

After that, a menu will appear and you will have to click on the delete contact option that appears in fourth place. After this step, you will have already deleted that person from your Telegram contact list.

As you can see, the procedure is exactly the same, so even if you use the app on your computer or on your mobile, you can discard contacts in the same way.