Benzema after CR7’s scoring record in the Champions League

Benzema after CR7’s scoring record in the Champions League

With two goals in the final, Benzema would catch up with Cristiano Ronaldo, his former teammate at Real Madrid, and with three or more he would establish a new solo record.

In case of scoring a goal, Benzema would not reach Cristiano’s record but he would be left alone in the historical third position of the Champions League scorers.

The Frenchman now shares that third place with the Pole Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), both with 86.

Ahead of them are Cristiano Ronaldo (140 goals) and Lionel Messi (125).

As far as Liverpool is concerned, the team’s main scorers in this Champions League have been Mohamed Salah (eight goals) and Sadio Mané (five).

They both already know what it’s like to score in a Champions League final.

The Egyptian attacker opened the scoring in Liverpool’s win over Tottenham (2-0) in the 2019 final in Madrid, while Sané scored the only goal for the ‘Reds’ in the defeat a year earlier against Real Madrid in the Kyiv final.

Mané is also on a scoring streak in this Champions League, as he scored in the first leg of the quarter-final against Benfica and also in the two semi-final matches against Villarreal.

List of Champions 2021-2022 scorers before the final:

15 goals: Benzema (Real Madrid)

13 goals: Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

11 goals: Haller (Ajax Amsterdam)

8 goals: Salah (Liverpool)

7 goals: Mahrez (Manchester City), Nkunku (RB Leipzig)

6 goals: Arnaut Danjuma (Villarreal), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Mbappe (Paris SG)Nunez (Benfica), Sane (Bayern Munich)

5 goals: Mané (Liverpool), Messi (Paris SG), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Rodrygo (Real Madrid)

Read:  Master Flow League: Increasingly first, Leviathan extends his win streak to 14

4 goals: Díaz (Liverpool), Gabriel Jesus (Manchester City), Goncalves (Sporting Lisboa), Griezmann (Atlético Madrid), Müller (Bayern Munich), Werner (Chelsea)

3 goals: Adeyemi (RB Salzburg), André Silva (RB Leipzig), Berghuis (Ajax Amsterdam), David (Lille), Dybala (Juventus), Dzeko (Inter Milan), Foden (Manchester City), Gnabry (Bayern Munich), Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Havertz (Chelsea), Malen (Borussia Dortmund), Okafor (RB Salzburg), Paulinho (Sporting Lisboa), Reus (Borussia Dortmund), B. Silva (Manchester City), Sterling (Manchester City), Vanaken (Bruges), Vinícius Júnior (Real Madrid), Yaremchuk (Benfica), B. Yilmaz (Lille), Zapata (Atalanta)